YSL Glossy Stain – Rose Tempera

How sweet, right? The Glossy Stains were created by magic to turn me into a lady! (I think it worked)

TheYSL Glossy Stain in Rose Tempera
Vernis À Lèvres Glossy Stain 7 Corail Aquatique 0.20 oz

I’ve been coveting in now mine to enjoy. I selected Rose Tempera, a  blue based medium pink. The shade selection of this range made it tough for me to choose, there are so many beautiful colors, including nudes with are tough to stain. I figured I’d choose a classic that I’d get the most use out of considering the price (32.00)

Initial Packaging

The Stain packaging

One thing I will say is that the packaging slightly under-whelmed me. I would have imagined a YSL lippy to have glass or metal packaging, not plastic. Especially considering the bottom portion is like a jar, or a pot of stain, the plastic threw me. While the plastic is sturdy and the gold cap is lovely, it lacks the telltale weight of a luxury lip product. I suppose on the “formal ranking” scale, a stain is below a lipstick in terms of fussiness, but barely, barely. I think the packaging cheapens it slightly, but ah, well! It’s still a YSL lip stain! Get a grip Emily!

The applicator is fairly typical. It’s a more angular (wider) doe foot applicator. I have an easy time with these, and I think they distribute product well and evenly. The actual formula is thicker than a gloss, it seems more like a liquid lipstick. It smells of rose, which some may not like, but I personally love. I like my luxury products to be a complete experience ( look beautiful, smell beautiful, excellent quality and exceptional color )

Rose Tempera -With Flash

Rose Tempera- Without Flash

The color is beautiful- exactly how I excepted it from ordering online. It’s creamy and rich, with still being light and bubbly because of the pink. It’s a sweet, effervescent pink. These swatches were with one swipe, although this formula is very buildable. I can get quite a deep and opaque color that has lots of shine and lasts. This formula gives you what I like to call “magazine lips”, where the model has the big, perfect, seamless &  glossy pink lips that have clearly been photoshopped. This is as good as it gets for us, ladies. My lips were leading the way all day wearing this. The color did not feather, it did not fade, it didn’t budge. As with any stain, it deepened in shade slightly through the day, but I was fine with that. For a stain/ gloss, this was surprisingly light and comfortable, I am really impressed.

Overall, I’m really happy with these. The formula itself is unmatched in the industry right now, in my opinion. I have yet to find such a creamy, light & comfortable, glossy stain that really lasts, in colors that I want my lips to be. YSL, you nailed it!

One thought on “YSL Glossy Stain – Rose Tempera

Leave a Reply

